Current group members

Dr. Jonathan Leach

Jonathan completed his PhD on optical vortices in the Optics Group at the University of Glasgow in 2005. He was then a postdoctoral researcher in the Optics Group before joining the Quantum Photonics group at the University of Ottawa as a senior research associate. Jonathan joined Heriot-Watt University in 2012 and formed the Experimental Quantum Optics group. 

Google Scholar

Eliot Bolduc

SUPA PhD student

Eliot obtained his BEng at the University of Montreal before moving to the Quantum Photonics group at the University of Ottawa to do his MSc in Physics. He began his PhD at Heriot-Watt in 2013.




Megan Agnew

SUPA PhD student

Google Scholar

Megan obtained her BSc in Physics at the University of Ottawa, Canada. She then moved to the Institute for Quantum Computing at the University of Waterloo, Canada, to do her MSc in Physics (Quantum Information) in the Quantum Optics and Quantum Information group. She began her PhD at Heriot-Watt in 2014.


Susan Chan

PhD student

Susan obtained her BSc in Physics at Heriot-Watt University. She began her PhD in 2015.

Past group members


Francesco Tonolini

Undergraduate student

Francesco is now studying for a PhD at MIT.

Dr. Ryan Warburton

Post-doctoral researcher

Ryan is now working in industry at Photon Force.